Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

Selective Enforcement of Deed Restriction

My HOA has a deed restriction from 1969 that limits trucks and vans to 1/2-ton rated capacity or less. This restriction has been enforced in the past. An owner (who had to sell his 3/4-ton truck when he moved in) recently complained to the HOA that there are 7 violators of this restriction, including a Board member. Rather than enforcing the restriction, the HOA passed a corporate resolution grandfathering the 7 violators and claiming they will prospectively enforce the restriction in future.

Has my HOA just waived/acquiesced their future rights to enforce this restriction? Is my HOA opening us up to a lawsuit for selective enforcement if they try to enforce it in the future? Is the only way to compel them to enforce the restriction (or amend the deed) by taking them to mediation (possibly followed by arbitration)?

Thanks in advance.

Asked on 2/09/08, 8:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Selective Enforcement of Deed Restriction

Their selective enforcement is not proper.

Read more
2/09/08, 8:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now