Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/04/02, 11:47 am

Legal Question


Tenant has paid all but a late fee (rent not late), can they evict?

Thanks for your time...we have rented a home with the option to purchase before the lease ends (in July) for the past 2 years. The owners now know that the house is worth much more than the agreed upon price, and would prefer to place it on the market. Our lease has a clause that if they receive the rent late (after the 3rd of the month) two times then the rent automatically goes up $50 for the remainder of the lease. They are now saying that they received our rent late twice (although I have proof of when I mailed it - USPS Delivery Confirmation and receipt of mailing). They sent an email saying they expected the additional $50 every month in the future and we refused to include it with this months rent. They have now served us with a '3 Day Notice' - do they have grounds?? Assuming the court would believe that it had been late twice, would the $50 clause be sufficient grounds for a court to agree with them and order an eviction?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search