Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I understand now that a lien can be placed on your homestead but if it is for crdt card debt and that person dies is it still collectable. I live in Florida if I have a judgement against me for crdt card debt and I die will my husband have to pay if he sells the house
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Peter Gonzalez |
How is title to the property held? Tenancy by the Entireties? Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship? If you are the only judgment debtor under a final judgment and you die before the judgment is satisfied, then the judgment creditor would have to attempt to collect from your estate, assuming your estate ends up with any assets. If the homestead property automatically becomes only your husband's property upon your death, then any lien recorded against the property that relates to a judgment against you only may not be enforceable against the real property after your demise. Of course, without reviewing all of the facts and pertinent documentations, including the deed to your homestead and the papers in the lawsuit filed by the credit card company, I cannot provide you with a complete, meaningful answer that you can rely upon. Moreover, this post is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice or a legal opinion since the same can only be provided after engaging my firm and me pursuant to a written engagement agreement signed by me and the payment of a required initial retainer. I hope the general information provided above is helpful to you. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Search Questions and Answers


