Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
how often does a will get overturned and what are some of the reasons why it would. also how often does a judge's ruling get reversed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Hart |
Some reasons for a will to be overturned area: 1. lack of mental capacity (i.e. the testator was delusional); 2. undue influence (i.e. someone got the testator to do something that they would not ordinarily have done); and 3. duress (i.e. you make this will or I will hurt you).
A judge's decision on a case can be overturned on appeal. However, generally the courts will not review the facts of the case (i.e. they will only look at the case to see if the judge abused his discretion in deciding the matter). Also, you may only appeal within a jurisdictional time period, and if you have not appealed in that jurisdictional time period, then you may not be able to appeal. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Search Questions and Answers


