Florida  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
10/26/09, 11:20 am

Legal Question


Is it illegal for a 24 year old to make a sexual comment to someone who is 16 years old in the state of Florida? If so, which law constitutes this?


question bubble
10/31/09, 11:37 am

Legal Answer


No. If the person was UNDER 16, it could be a crime depending on what was said (if it was a solicitation for sex). See Florida Statute 800.04 regarding lewd and lascivious acts on minors under 16.

I would like to point out Florida Statute 794.05 which prohibits a person 24 years of age or older from having sex with a person 16 or 17 years of age.

Florida Statutes can be found on the "Online Sunshine" website www.leg.state.fl.us.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire
sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com
New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search