Legal Question in Social Security Law in Florida

I was awarded SSI at my hearing a few days ago but have not received the official award letter by mail yet. In two days I will be closing on a house and receiving a sum of money around $21.000. Since it is prior to the "official" decision if I spend it before I get the award letter on all my debts and past due bills (I have many) will I lose my benefits? I do not want a trust. I believe I can spend it fairly quickly as I do have that much debt and liens etc... Please advice asap as I do not have much time. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Asked on 3/17/13, 10:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Tobin Michael M. Tobin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your award of SSDI benefits have nothing to do with your assets.

Read more
6/11/13, 1:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now