Florida  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
9/08/09, 11:38 am

Legal Question


Illness forced my retirement from medicine in March 1997. Since that time, I have been unable to work at any job or profession; my only source of income has been derived from my tax-exempt personal disability policy I carried whilst in practice . I have recently applied for SS disability and have several questions: 1. Should I ultimately receive SS disability, will that monthly stipend be subtracted from the amount received from my personal disability? It is my impression that "regular" SS retirement benefits are subtracted by the private disability insurance company, hence this question.

2. After submitting my application, I was notified that the most pertinent and important medical records date from 1997-2002. As this period is beyond the 7 year requirement for physicians to keep medical records, what will happen should these records not be available? Note that I have continued to see physicians every 1-2 months since I withdrew from practice.

3. I applied for SS disability in March 1997, but was turned-down as I had just become disabled. I did not reapply until recently. Am I entitled to retroactive back payments? If so, for what period of time?

4. As I suspect my application will be turned down, will you handle my appeal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search