Florida  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 11:23 pm

Legal Question


Can a parent of a 16 year old mother prevent her child from having her social security, passport, and birth certificate, if the 16 year old is in process of getting an attorney for emancipation?


question bubble
11/21/09, 11:37 pm

Legal Answer


Honey, who is 16? A 16 year old must comply with her parent's orders, unless there are some very drastic circumstances. A 16 year old must also have a parent's consent and a court order to become emancipated.

If you are abused and need help, you can email me, and I will find some help for you.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 10:46 am

Legal Answer


YOu can try to prevent your child from attaining emancipation but she is a mother and can apply for same with the court. A circuit court has jurisdiction to remove the disabilities of nonage of a minor age 16 or older residing in this state upon a petition filed by the minor's natural or legal guardian or, if there is none, by a guardian ad litem.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search