Florida  |  Tax Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 2:24 pm

Legal Question


I have a small piece of property in Highland County and I owe some back taxes on it. I just received a notice that the county was going to sell it for the back taxes. I am a senior citizen just Social Security and that property is the only thing I have left. I have been trying to sell it for almost the past two years and have seen the value drop from close to $40K to $15K now. I have it on the market for $12K and still no takers. The taxes are $2,600. I can work a payment plan but I don't want to lose that land. It's been in the family for over 40 years.

Thank you.


question bubble
11/18/09, 11:06 am

Legal Answer


You can try to start paying and contact the government, but I doubt they will allow a payment plan. You best bet may be to borrow the money from friends and set up a plan with them.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search