tax liability
I have been awarded money from Engle Trust Fund in Florida for the tobbacco related deaths of both of my parents, they are not saying this is for compensatory damages or defining the payment. Will I owe taxes on this money?
|
Read More Answered By: John DeLancett |
Re: tax liability IT WILL DEPEND ON WHAT THE DAMAGES ARE THAT ARE BEING COMPENSATED. THE IRS WILL EXAMINE THE DEMAND LETTERS, NEGOTIATIONS, PLEADINGS, ETC AND WILL NOT SIMPLY RELY UPON THE CLASSIFICATION DESIGNATED IN THE SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT. THERE HAS DEFINATELY BEEN A MOVEMENT TO MAKE IT MORE LIKELY THAT THE AWARDS ARE TAXABLE, BUT, IN ORDER TO COME TO A LEGAL CONCLUSION, A CAREFUL REVIEW OF HOW AND WHY YOU RECEIVED THE AWARD IS NECESSARY. WE CAN PERFORM THAT ANALYSIS SHOULD YOU WANT IT DONE. MY CONTACT INFORMATION IS BELOW. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF WE CAN BE OF SERVICE TO YOU. |
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 135
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
► IRS audit The IRS has asked me to show them my personal bank statements. Am I...
► Irs related There are many other factors in this case, however my general question...
► Pension of deceased law enforcement officer My husband was a law enforcement officer...
► Tax filing for separated! If a person is separated and not divorced, what is the...
► Tax laws Do you have to file for taxes if you do not work?
► Internal Revenue I had Jackson Hewett do my taxes in 2007. I got an advance loan on...
► Taxable income on stocks/bonds I just received in the mail from the IRS that I sold...
More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press