Florida | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Following to close?
I was involved in a 3 vehicle accident. A drunk driver (V1) pulled into our lane of travel hitting a roofing truck(V2) head on. V1 driver was killed instantly & had no auto insurance. Prior to impact I saw V1 turn into our lane & started to step on my brakes. I saw the impact of V1 & V2 & I was able to stop. V2 rear wheels came off the road at impact & when V2 back end came back down it landed upon the front end of my car(V3). Almost 3 months later I have recieved a summons to appear in court for ''Driving to close''. How can this be if I stopped before V2 came back down & hit me & not issued until 3 months after the accident? My passenger was also summoned to appear as the states witness. Is this because the drunk driver was killed & had no insurance & they need someone who had insurance to pay for the damages? I am upset, confused & am contacting a lwyer on Monday. Please advise...thank you.


