Florida | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Florida Statue Chapter 320.02(4) 2nd deg misdemeanor. HELP
I was pulled over by cop. He gave me a ticket for failure to update address on auto registration within 20 days of moving. Florida Stat Chapter 320.02(4) Criminal misdemeanor 2nd degree. My license was updated with the correct address within 10 days of moving and on the website it says clearly that the state DMV database automatically updates the registration as well when license address is updated but apparently it maybe didn't update both of mine. After I got the ticket, I went to DMV Florida website and my RESIDENCE address shows my new accurate address correctly and my MAILING address shows both my NEW and my OLD addresses. I have a completely clean criminal record. No misdemeanors or felonies ever. I have no experience dealing with court and I am unable to hire a lawyer and my arraignment is on March 11th. What should I do, just plead no contest and take the printout from the DMV website to the arraignment day to show it to the judge in Kissimmee, FL Osceola County? Will the website printout be enough for my proof and will I be able to just show it at the arraignment or what ? My actual registration card is NOT expired but the OLD address is printed on it. I am scared I will now have a criminal record. What do I do? HELP


