Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

April 5th,2012,dr's determined my mother incapable of handling her affairs & Durable POA kicked in for my sister. On 4/05/12 sis went to mom's bank & rec'd acct. info on mom's 11 accts. There were 7 accts. w/POD's/ beneficiaries & 4 ck.& sv. accts. Sis took a $10k acct I was sole beneficiary on, transferred entire bal. to mom's ck.acct, then closed acct. I was beneficiary on. Mom passed away 5 days later. Sis, then executor of estate,paid $4800 to funeral hm, & for bills,etc. from mom's regular ck.acct. There was nothing to show I was beneficiary of any acct...I rec'd nothing. The Dur.POA stated nothing about changing/ deleting a benefciary. The bank's legal dept. went over entire POA. Applying Florida banking procedures (Fl. acct. terms & conditions apply) changing and/or deleting a beneficiary is clearly not a transactionhat a Durable Family POA is authorized to do. (in this instance, the DFPOA DID NOT state this action would be allowed). I want to sue my sis, where do I start? Is it possible I can sue the bank also?

allowed her to do this!

Asked on 4/13/13, 4:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Get all the paperwork and consult with an attorney. Your conclusions have to borne out by the paperworik.

Read more
Answered on 4/13/13, 5:42 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88563 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now