Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/02/07, 6:35 am

Legal Question


beneficiary vs. will

My mother had me on one of her accounts(AIG VALIC) She passed away in May of this year(2007) I received a letter from this company with their condolences and ''death claim'' form to fill out which I did. I received this in the middle of July, 2 months after her passing. I went away for a week and returned to find a check from this company. If she left this account to someone else in her will, does being the beneficiary overrule the will? and, if I were not the beneficiary, would they have sent this to me also stating that if there were others they would also be notified and assets would be properly distributed. What happens if I cash the check?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search