Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/14/13, 5:55 am

Is there a way to contest my parents after their death if I feel that in their will they have left an exorbitant amount of money to a questionable religious organization?

4 Answers


Answered on: 2/14/13, 6:25 am by Barry Stein

Only way is based on improper influence or diminished capacity on the testators parts. Hard to prove, requires significant factual basis to support it. You should contact a local attorney and review the facts. The mere distribution to the organization is not enough.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/14/13, 6:36 am by Ronald Jones

Possibly. Undue influence and lack of or diminished capacity are two ways, but it's also possible that the will was not executed in conformity with Florida law, depending on the facts, particularly if the will was not drafted by and the signing overseen by an attorney.

You really do need to talk to lawyer about the details.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ronald A. Jones, PA 15600 A S US Hwy 441 Summerfield, FL 34491

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/14/13, 7:24 am by Lucreita Becude

My colleagues are correct. I suggest you speak with an attorney now as to what is going on with your parents. Without knowing the age and if they are being influenced by this organization is hard to say. If I can be of assistance please contact my office for an appointment 904-997-1031. They may need a plenary guardianship in order to keep them from contracting with others.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/14/13, 7:59 am by David Slater

Will contests are expensive, difficult and fact and witness specific. Can you prove undue influence or diminished capacity? I have been successful in the past.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search