Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/30/09, 5:52 pm

Legal Question


I am a disabled 46 year old person living and born in FL. I receive disability income and Medicare. I do not receive SSI because of my assets and my husband's income. My parents want to make me a benefactor in their will. If I inherent less than 1 million dollars, will my disability income or medicare be affected.? Can the government ask for any reimbursements, stop my medicare or disability income, or control how I spend my inheritance?


question bubble
11/09/09, 2:24 pm

Legal Answer


Normally receipt of any substantial monies will disqualify a person for need-based programs. There certainly is no $1million exemption - I don't know where that figure would come from. In order to avoid problems with disqualification for any governmental program, your parents should consider setting up a special needs trust for your benefit. Any attorney who does estate planning can advise them on how to do that in their wills.

Frank J. Pyle

Probate Attorney Throughout Florida 401 West Colonial Drive, Suite 4 Orlando, FL 32804

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search