Florida | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Inheriting home/selling home
I inherited my Mom's home 2006. At death it appraised $300,000 and It sold for $190,000 2007. Am I responsible for taxes on money received as a profit as Capital Gain? I spent $40,000 getting it in shape/taxes/all upkeep. Does this fall in the catagory of Estate and not capital gains?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Inheriting home/selling home NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
If the property was appraised on the date of death at $300,000.00 you received a "stepped up basis" equal to that amount. Therefore, based on the limited information you provided, when you sold the property in 2007 for $190,000.00, you had a $110,000.00 loss according to your basis. Accordingly, there should not be any capital gains to report. As a safety measure, you should not rely upon this information but should discuss this matter thoroughly with your CPA or other tax preparer as I do not hold myself out as a tax expert or provide tax advice.
Scott R. Jay, Esq.
|
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


