Florida | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
inheritnace vs marital income
Ok, here is the question and it, I think is a difficult one. My wife's mother died last august. Way prior to her dying, my wife was on all her money bank accounts as a joint person, she could do everything that her mother could do with the account, especially as her mother was 80 years old. When her mother died, because my wife on her joint account all the money just stayed where it was and her name was deleted from the account (or not) as she was deceased. The attorney sent out a letter to the heirs stating that the will was unfundable because the money in the account reverted directly to my wife because she was a joint person on the account. So, after all this, here is the question...is this inherited money or my contingent is that it is marital money because she had the money before her mother died therefore it is not inhierited. please advise...r.


