Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/01/05, 7:41 pm

Legal Question


life estate

My sister & I are named on the deed to our family home with my father's widow as LE. The house was purchased in 1961. We can't seem to find the deed or when it was changed to my father's wife as life estate. We do not have contact with this woman, but have heard & found online that she is trying to sell the house. She would not allow the family access to our father's papers when he died in 1984 and our father didn't tell us we were named on the deed. How can we stop her from selling? She took out a mortgage the month after my father's death. We think she may have forged some papers or something else illegal to get control of the property, but since we all live outside Florida it is hard for us to do research. Who can we contact to get a title status report? We don't have a lot of money the spend. My father had filed for divorce a few months before he died. When she found out he was dying she moved back in to grab all she could.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search