Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/18/10, 4:10 pm

If someone makes a will more than 10 years then make another will before died without throwing away the first will is the new will good or not?

4 Answers


Answered on: 3/23/10, 4:19 pm by David Labovitz

The first sentence of just about every will revokes all prior wills. Thus, the new will would have revoked the old will and the old will is no good, regardless of whether it was thrown away.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Labovitz Law Firm, P.A. 545 Delaney Avenue, Suite 4 Orlando, FL 32801

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/23/10, 4:36 pm by David Slater

If the second will was validly executed, it will revoke the first.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/23/10, 5:43 pm by Douglas R. Coenson, Esq.

I agree with both of the previous answers. First, the second will needs to be validly executed. Second, the will needs to be examined to determined if it revokes the previous will and now becomes the new will. If it doesn't then the new will may be determined to be a codicil (an amendment to the previous will). Should you have further questions or require assistance with this matter, please feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/24/10, 7:06 am by Frank J. Pyle

Yes, if properly executed.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Probate Attorney Throughout Florida 401 West Colonial Drive, Suite 4 Orlando, FL 32804

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search