Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/21/07, 5:07 pm

Legal Question


Power of Attorney for Quit Claim Deed

My elderly aunt give me her Durable Power of Attorney, with sprawling powers, as well as made me Executrix of her Will and Trustee of her Trust. While she was in the hospital and still alive, I was advised by a friend to use the POA to transfer her 50% ownership in her home (the other half is owned by her 91 year old companion) with a Quit Claim Deed to myself, which I did. The original deed said John Smith, single and Mary Smith, single. All these docs are legal and prepared by attys. My question is: Was this legal for me to do. Do I own 50% of this home currently, or do I need to do something else with it? My Aunt passed away a few months after I used the POA to Quit Claim the home. I was told that had I not done it, her part in the title would have been lost at her death. My Aunt was never married and has no children of her own. Could you please advise me as to what is legal with regard to this, and whether or not I actually own half of this home. Thanks so much for your help!!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search