Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/09, 10:19 pm

Legal Question


Spouse of 35 years just died 11/7, Had a will and I'm sole beneficiary.....does this will need to be probated or maybe filed somewhere?


question bubble
11/19/09, 12:08 am

Legal Answer


If he had assets in his name, yes. Contact an attorney familiar with probate such as myself. Good luck.

David Slater

David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 9:47 am

Legal Answer


You can file the will on record at the probate office in your area. However, if there are existing assets in his name only you may need to probate the estate. If you are in the Duval, St. Johns, Clay or Nassau Counties, I will be glad to assist you.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 9:57 am

Legal Answer


I am sorry for your loss. Yes, it needs to be filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county where your wife lived. This process is known as probate. Probate is a title proceeding where the will is reviewed and the title assets are transferred. I see you are local, so please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search