Florida | Wills and Trusts
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Wills NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
Maybe. Florida will recognize wills made in other states if it complies with Florida's requirements. If the will was not executed with two witnesses observing in the presence of a notary public and signed precisely in the format that Florida law requires, the will will NOT be self proving. This means that the witnesses will have to be located and sign an oath affirming that they witnessed the execution of the will before a duly sworn commissioner appointed to take the oath. This is oftentimes far more costly and time consuming then simply having the will redrawn by a Florida attorney in compliance with all applicable laws.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: Michelle Hofkin |
Re: Wills Florida will recognize a will from another state if it was validly executed in that state. If you need any clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7777
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


