Florida | Workers Comp
Legal Question
Workman's Comp. Insurance Premium Has Unpaid Balance--Help
My daughter obtained an occupational license in construction/painting in Okaloosa County, FL, 10 Apr 1998. She purchased a workman’s compensation insurance policy and paid $700 of the $1,700 required per her contract. My daughter listed the company potential income of $80,000. Facts: She did not do any work as a contractor; obtained license and paid $700 for workman’s comp (balance: $1,000 owed). End of business due to medical problems. Is there a way for her not to pay the $1,000 plus attorney fees if we can prove she did not use her occupational license becasue of health?
Problem 1: Okaloosa county not notified insurance company was not notified about her not pursuing the business.
Problem 2: The FTBA Mutual Insurance agency (workman’s comp) filed bankruptcy and now the state of Florida is the receiver of assets which includes the balance of my daughters policy ($1,000 plus reasonable attorney’s fee—God only knows what is reasonable attorney’s fee). She was required to send to the attorney representing the receiver an interrogatory of her assets, which came to about $1,000 or face contempt of court.


