Georgia  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/01/13, 9:15 am

my mom died. my dad and my brother and I have our names in the deed of the house. one sister said that my dad has signed the ownership of the house to her. she says she is now the owner of the house. I thought, since my brother and I have our names in the deed, she needs our signatures too.

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/01/13, 9:35 am by Glen Ashman

If what you say is true, then you still own your part of the house. Sit down with a lawyer and the paperwork to discuss it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/01/13, 9:37 am by Phillip M. Cook

You need to have a lawyer review title to your property so that he can advise you on who owns the property and your legal rights/options. If you would like to contact me I can likely do this for a modest fee. Feel free to email me at Pcook@cooklegalservices.com.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Cook Legal Services, LLC 1130 Piedmont Avenue, NE #1403 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/01/13, 9:57 am by Harold Holcombe

You need to do a title search to determine what has gone on with the title to the house.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Harold D. Holcombe, P.C. 1467 Scenic Hwy. N Snellville, GA 30078

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search