Georgia  |  Disability Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 4:39 pm

Legal Question


I am a cancer patient. This guy is sueing me because I translated information for a friend that wanted to terminate a contract with him. The guy claims I told my friend to terminate and helped him do it and it caused him financial harm. I didn't do anything wrong. The emotional stress from the suit is detrimental to my health. My cancer has come back since the stressful situation started. Can disabled people be sued? Can I counter sue for emotional disstress?


question bubble
11/16/09, 5:13 pm

Legal Answer


There are no laws against suing someone with a disability. If the action against you is frivolous, you can make a claim in this case or in a later case for abusive litigation. If you are represented by counsel, ask your attorney about your options in that regard. If you are not represented, you should strongly consider seeking an attorney's help.

The foregoing is general information only, not specific legal advice. No attorney/client relationship has been created or should be implied.

Jeff Kent

Kent & Merritt, P.A. 3535 Roswell Rd., Suite 49 Atlanta, GA 30062

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search