Georgia | Disability Law
Legal Question
forced into Disability retirement
I was a senior Env. Engineer with a federal agency for 21 years. I had a documented history of recurrent, treatment-resistant Major Depression and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. On Sept. 11, 2001, I was 1/4 mile from the Pentagon. I started to have panic attacks at work and developed a Depressive episode that was no longer responding to treatment. I was accommodated informally for about a year (I also had 6 major surgeries starting that year through 2006). Due to reorganization, I wound up working for a manager with an axe to grind with me. He determined I needed to be held ''accountable'', that I had no disability, I was just an uppity employee needing to be disciplined. All reasonable accommodations were rescinded (of course, there was no record, they were ''informal'') and things got really ugly. After a stint in a partial hospitalization program I tried to come back. It became clear nothing had changed. I went through the EEO process and have now filed suit in federal court. I was granted ''pauper'' status (I am a pauper), but was denied my request to have an attorney appointed. I have high hopes DOJ will settle when they review the case. What are my options? Is this something I might be able to do on my own?


