Legal Question in Banking Law in Georgia

Banking

My husband and I are desparately trying to get out of debt, but every time we deposit a paycheck at our bank, they put a hold on it. As a result, when bills come in, we are charged overdraft fees by the bank (even though the funds are obviously there) as well as late fees by our creditors. Is it legal for the bank to do this? They say it is their ''policy'' when customers have had overdrafts. But my husbands paychecks are from the State of Georgia. His paychecks have never bounced.

Asked on 8/05/07, 8:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Banking

Most banks have policies on holding checks, and the policy is normally incorporated in your account agreement. You need to review your agreement.

Read more
8/06/07, 8:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Banking Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now