Legal Question in Banking Law in Georgia

my checking account was recently emptied. The bank (BOA) said that it was because of a business credit card that I had opened in 2006. I am the main cardholder. My Ex-spouse was on the card as well. The card was used for his Business, which failed.

I closed the account in 2009 and my ex was supposed to pay them off. Is there anything that I can do here to get my money back? It was several thousand dollars and theyre want more. Any help would be appreciated.

Asked on 8/26/13, 8:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your account agreements will say that the Bank can take money from any of your accounts to pay a debt to them. You may be able to look to your ex to repay it.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/13, 8:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Banking Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now