Legal Question in Banking Law in Georgia

I was a victim of a scam and my bank had a hold on a check that I deposited without knowing it was counterfeit, but they still let me get money from this deposit. This put me in the hole fro over $1800; I am living with Social Security and bring in around $1100 per month. The bank took this month's deposit and wants the rest of the money. I could not pay bills or buy food or anything else. Can I take the bank to court?

Asked on 10/09/13, 3:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, but they can sue you for your participation in what is a very common scam. You owe them the money and will have to pay them. In the future, do not fall for things that are too good to be true.

Read more
10/09/13, 6:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Banking Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now