Georgia  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/02/09, 9:58 pm

Legal Question


I was divorced in 2007, my exwife remarried. In our settlement, she was awarded a car that I co-signed for. I recently received notice that she and her new husband or filing for bankrupcy (chapter 7). My name is still on the loan as co-signer.. will I be held responsible for her debt and what are my options?


question bubble
11/07/09, 10:07 pm

Legal Answer


The lender can pursue you.

You MAY be able to pursue her, with permission from the bankruptcy court. You need to see a lawyer immediately.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office
2791 Main Street EAST POINT
Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/09, 10:17 pm

Legal Answer


You are not responsible for her debt. You are responsible for your debt, and as a co-signer it is your debt. This is the risk in the way the settlement was handled.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road
Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search