Georgia  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/11/09, 2:40 pm

Legal Question


If you file for chapter 13 bankruptcy and then change to chapter 7, in which you reaffirm the debt for a car, can the bank repossess the car without allowing the chance to reaffirm it?


question bubble
11/16/09, 2:52 pm

Legal Answer


Those are questions for your lawyer, but keep in mind the lenders are under no obligation to do a reaffirmation.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 9:54 pm

Legal Answer


Usually, yes, barring facts we don't have. The only person familiar with your case who can tell you for sure is your lawyer, and certainly he discussed this with you when you discussed conversion.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search