Georgia  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/30/09, 2:44 pm

Legal Question


I have filed for bankruptcy w/out an attorney. I received a notice that the case was closed w/out discharge because they did not receive a certificate. I have the certificate, and have been told to mail in a letter and serve the trustee. How do I serve the trustee?


question bubble
11/04/09, 2:53 pm

Legal Answer


Your case is closed, and it needs to be reopened, for starters. That involves the appropriate motion, and filing fee. Many other issues could arise in the case - no one here knows. Get a lawyer to do it correctly this time.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road
Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 3:03 pm

Legal Answer


You missed a basic step that is required in every case.

To reopen a case you must pay a new filing fee for your case, actually have the second class certificate, and have your lawyer electronically file it. While the case is open a lawyer can also fix any other omissions that may have happened. You should retain counsel for these steps so that you actually get a discharge this time.

I'd be glad to assist. Reopening the case will cost you about $550 if you have not missed too many other steps, about half of which is due to the court as a filing fee. Call me at 4047683509.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office
2791 Main Street EAST POINT
Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search