Georgia  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
12/05/05, 8:46 pm

Legal Question


photography rights

I am curious to know if I take a picture of a building or public residence (so long as I'm not taking the picture while on their property) or people on the street can I take and sell those pictures without the consent of the people in the picture, the owner's of the house, or the owner's of the building? And if I do profit from those pictures can those persons come back and ask for royaltys? Thank you for your prompt attention.


question bubble
12/06/05, 11:20 am

Legal Answer


Re: photography rights

If you use the likeness of another for profit, the law requires a release from the subject or some other agreement for compensation or not. This is not true for public buildings and public people.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search