Georgia  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
9/16/09, 11:51 am

Legal Question


I'm in Georgia.

I needed some major repairs on my car so I took to a place that more than one person recommended to me. The part they needed was a special part and required some time. The total ended up being over $1,853.00 and it took them ten days before they returned my car. They asked if I had a fuel leak before (no). So something they did caused a fuel leak. Then they called and said that they fixed the fuel leak "no charge." After I picked up the car the next day I'm smelling gas and notice fuel leaking beneath the car. I called and left a message and we've spoken on the phone and he's supposed to call me back. I am now waiting to hear from him.

Some of his language is acknowledging that it happened as they worked on it, but some of it ("You're not going to like it if we have to get a new fuel pump") makes me think they are expecting me to pay for them to fix this issue that I didn't have when I gave them my car. Do I have legal grounds to threaten to sue or put some legal heat on them? I just want my car to back, fixed; and I don't want to pay.

Thanks for any help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search