Georgia  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
8/23/10, 7:36 pm

Legal Question


I took my PC to a local repair shop because the fan had quit working. When I dropped it off, the technician said it would be 5 days to 4 weeks to get it back, depending on whether they had the part in stock or if they had to order it. I called 10 days later to check on the status and was told they had shipped the PC to their home office out of state and it would be at least 4 weeks, perhaps 6 weeks to get it back. I've been calling regularly to check the status and have gotten a different story about where it is and when I would get it back. The latest story is that they are replacing the motherboard and it may be another month or two before I get it back. I didn't authorize any repairs other than the fan. I asked for it to be returned and they told me that since it was non-functional, I would be getting back a PC that was useless. It was working fine when it went in, except for the fan. Is there any way I can demand my PC back immediately in the same condition it was brought in or the value of it? Do I have to wait a certain amount of time before taking them to small claims court if they fail to return it? They keep saying to be patient and I will get it back in perfect working condition but I really don't believe them at this point. I also don't want to wait too long and have them then say I abandoned it.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search