Legal Question in Consumer Law in Georgia

We purchased a new 2013 2500 Chevy Silverado on 17Aug from a dealership in Lawrenceville, GA. We traded our 2012 1500 Dodge Ram we purchased in Dec 2012. We told the salesman and dealership we needed a truck with more pulling power because we were going to upgrade our 30' travel trailer to something larger and heavier. We were told that this truck we purchased would do the trick. We used the truck with the trailer over the Labor Day Weekend, and went 55 miles from home. The truck had a hard time pulling and we were not satisfied. We called the dealership today as well as my husband went to it. They said they were given wrong information. We feel we were lied to and want something done before I have to make a payment on 27 Sep for a truck that is not adequate. We have even put running boards on the truck for my benefit to get up into the truck...which we bought and installed. When I talked to the salesman, he said he was given wrong information. He is trying to find a bigger truck, but then of course, the payment will be higher, and when we purchased this one, we told the salesman we were at the top of our payment limit. I want to get our old truck back and be reimbursed for our running boards, as well as they pay any difference with the gap insurance due to changing trucks. We are with the same lender, of which the salesperson told us it is not their truck anymore and it belongs to the lender. This is unacceptable, and I am furious. What can we legally do, or can you suggest who we can go to so this will be remedied and not go past the deadline for which I need to start paying for the new truck. We need to settle this before the 20th of Sept. We have a camping trip in TN, and there is no way we can pull our trailer with this truck. Regards, Janice McRAe

Asked on 9/03/13, 3:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Verbal statements by a salesman are irrelevant. As a buyer, you had the duty to research towing capacity before you shopped. Unfortunately, unless the dealer wants to help you, you are stuck.

Read more
9/03/13, 3:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now