Georgia  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
10/10/09, 5:19 pm

Legal Question


As a victim of Identity Theft, I contacted Verizon to dispute the 2 fraudulent accounts opened by a former boyfriend without my permission. I informed them that at the time the accounts were opened in Ma, I was living with my mom in Ga. I was enrolled in a technical program and worked at a local restaurant but because I was a single mom on a very low income I did not have bills in my name. My cell phone was prepaid and I gave my mom money for her bills, but could not afford to have anything in my name.

Verzion says that because I was over 18 at the time, I should've have some kind of bill in my name. And because I did not, I must pay off the accounts. They are saying they cannot accept my school loan, school records, w-2 forms or employment records as proof of identity, they are required by the FTC to a bill from me. Is that true? Because I was too broke to have cable or phone service, that makes me liable for someone else's criminal acts? Please give advice.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search