Georgia  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
8/26/10, 4:30 pm

Legal Question


About a week and a half ago I signed an agreement for personal training to last for one year. When I signed, I was under the impression that I was signing up for training-not signing a contract. I specifically asked the owner if I could cancel training at any point without penalty. His answer was, of course, yes. I went home with a fitness book he gave me (not a contract-as I was unaware I signed a legally binding document). In this book, there were policies regarding cancellation of the "agreement". I got very worried and called the owner at 8 am the next morning to either verify that this wasn't a contract or cancel. He never returned my call and now will not cancel this contract. I have been conned. What can I do. I believe that I could have voided the contract within that 3 day grace period here in Georgia, but he never gave me the opportunity.


question bubble
8/31/10, 4:51 pm

Legal Answer


I don't know what "that 3 day grace period her in Georgia" is, other than the myth that some people believe that there is some right to cancel a contract within 3 days. That is false, though surprisingly many people seem to believe it. However, one of the very, very few contracts that does have a specific cancelation period is health club contracts, and the law provides a 7 day right to cancel. You can probably google to find more about it, including the language that should have been in the contract and the method to cancel IF this is a health club contract. Since you did not even provide the terms of the contract you signed, no one can tell you whether it complies with the law. If it does, you might be stuck because apparently you did not read what you signed - that is your fault. You also apparently waited a week after you could have been looking into the issue.

It might be an expensive lesson in contracts, including reading what you sign and assuming that once you sign, you are bound. If you are able to cancel, you are very fortunate.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
8/31/10, 6:28 pm

Legal Answer


As Scott noted, there's no such thing as a 3 day grace period. There is no way someone can be "tricked" into signing a contract unless they choose not to read it.

So, as Scott says, unless this is a health club contract, you're stuck, and have learned a valuable lesson - read what you sign.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search