Georgia  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
1/27/04, 8:39 pm

Legal Question


Debt collection: asking neighbors to deliver message

Is it permissable under the Fair Debt Collection Act for collection agencies to contact 3rd parties (such as neighbors) and ask them to relay phone messages? I thought the law only allows 3rd party contact for updating location information, even if no account or debt information is divulged during the 3rd party contact. It is embarrassing to have ones neighbors bringing these types of messages over. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search