Georgia  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/02/02, 9:52 am

Legal Question


misinformation on credit report (multiple offenses by 1 company)

I carried a credit card with a company nearly five years ago, and since paying off and closing the account 3 years ago(I do have it in writing), I have three times now learned that they have put misinformation as to debt and payment history on my credit report. Twice before I have called and dealt with this company, having to twist their arm to admit their mistake and remove the information, as well send me a letter stating the situation and the fact that the account has long since been closed. Now, today, I find out again that there are points on my credit report from this company stating that I am over my balance and delinquent in my payments. I am fed up, embarrassed by this, and concerned that this will continue every couple years or so, as appears to be their pattern. What action can I take against this company so that I never have to deal with this situation or this company again?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search