Georgia  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 9:52 am

Legal Question


i received a summons from suntrust bank via a law firm in atlanta,ga. stateing that i owe them the balance for a truck that i had which was repossessed in 2004. what are my rights concerning this ? can they garnish my wages? i received this summons on nov.13 2009, the date stamped on it is apr.29 2009.


question bubble
11/18/09, 10:21 am

Legal Answer


Rights? If you owe the money, you are facing a judgment, garnishment of wages and bank accounts, and a very negative entry on your credit report that could effect future employment, etc. No one here can tell you what the dates mean without the documents, but a defect in service usually means they just serve you again. If you want to contest the case, you need to hire a lawyer since no one here knows all the facts. However, perhaps that money can instead be used to pay the debt.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 4:32 pm

Legal Answer


What your rights are is too complicated to explain in this type of forum without having more information. However, you probably need to take immediate action. Consult with a local attorney.

Charles W. Field

Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law 911 Duluth Hwy., Ste. D-3211 Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA 30043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search