Georgia | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
repossession
I had a car repossessed while I was in Iraq.The car was bought during military service.The creditors repossessed and sold the car in 30 days.They sent notices,but I never got it over here in Iraq.Now it is on my credit report that I owe a balance and it is in dispute status till I get back and pay.The creditors say I am not protected under the SCRA because the vehicle was purchased during service,not before.Is there anything you can tell me about SCRA that protects active duty servicemember while deployed in combat agianst repossession and sale?I started to get letters from then after the car was sold already.Can I sue them and get compensation from them?


