Georgia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
felony to misdameanor
i am currently trying to get into the military and i have a felony posession with intent charge. they told me if i could get it reduced to a misdameanor they would let me in. can i do this and if yes how would i go about doing it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Re: felony to misdameanor I need additional information. Do you have an attorney currently representing you in the criminal case? If so, you should talk to that attorney about making a deal that would reduce the charge, etc. Also, talk to the recruiter about providing information about the potential harm of the charge not being changed/reduced etc. with your attorney so the attorney can argue and/or negotiate with the D.A. Worse case, your attorney can take it up with the judge even if there's a partial plea bargain. It depends on the branch and what your positions in the Military will be that the Military may waive certain limited felonies. I cannot tell you how to practice law without a license though. You either hire an attorney or you do it yourself, but doing it yourself, the court will assume that you know everything an attorney knows. Feel free to contact me for a free consultation.
In responding to your question in this matter, the Firm is not expressing an opinion on whether you will ultimately prevail if legal action is pursued. You should not refrain from seeking legal assistance from another firm if you desire another opinion. Because time is always important, and could be critically short in your case, you may wish to seek another opinion as soon as possible.
The information contained in this correspondence is provided as a free consultation only, based on the limited facts given by you, and does not constitute legal advice. I try to provide quality information, but I make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to this E-mail. As legal advice must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case, and laws are constantly changing, nothing provided herein should be used as a substitute for the advice of competent counsel. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lawrence Lewis, P.C.
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 531
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Thomas J. Hough, Jr., P.C.
Cartersville, GA
Questions Answered: 237
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-03-13
Law Offices of Pearlie L. Bush
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
VILLANI& ASSOCIATES, P.C.
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Martin G. Hilliard, PC
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Tomlinson & Associates, LLC
Richmond Hill, GA
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-22
Search Questions and Answers


