Georgia  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
8/25/10, 7:20 pm

Legal Question


My friend's ex-boyfriend has been stalking her. She changed her numbers, blocked his emails, and told him to get lost. He follows her and shows up at the hair salon, family member's houses, etcl. He's friends with her neighbor, a retired lady, so he goes to her house, talks about my friend, and tries to get information about my friend. The lady is so naive that she tells him information and tells my friend to give him another chance. He's SO manipulating. He even tried to get my friend's father fired from his job. She's called the police so many times, and he leaves before they get there. He's pushed her around several times, but there's no physical evidence. The police say that there is nothing that they can do because there is no proof. It's her word against his. She can't get a TPO or a restraining order because she has no physical proof, they don't live together, they haven't been married, and don't have children together. Today, he showed up at her job (she's a teacher) during the school day to bring her flowers. I have seen her tell him on the phone not to contact her; I've seen her email him to leave her alone. This seems like a scary movie where the something terrible is going to happen and no one will do anything. She is even trying to sell her home because she doesn't want him to know where she lives. What can she do to keep him away from her and keep herself safe? Everyone is so worried about her safety and sanity.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search