Georgia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Identity Theft
I am in the military and the last ten years my cousin have been using my name in Georgia. It started in 1998 when I received to DUIs and my command clear it up by show it wasn't me due to the picture they had on file.
When I was stationed in Atlanta on recruiting duty I did a Police Record Check and I had three to four worth of charges, so I went to the GBI to be fingerprinted and everything came back clear and nothing matched my fingerprints.
When I transfered to Japan I tried to renew my GA drivers licenses I was unable to due to the fact that he was pulled over with marijuana on 19Mar2007 and showed up to court and pleaded guilty, but he didn't complete the probation. I am looking at a lawsuit against the state I am a military police officer and it has impacted my job I can't driver I have been calling around for a year to clear this up and I am receiving no help. I have the booking photo that shows his face when booked I have sent that to the courts. What can I do? I feel the state is liable for allowing him to do this when I have provided the proper paperwork and fingerprints to clear my name.


