Georgia  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/03/13, 7:46 am

We just left court and the application for warrant was dismissed by judge--can same charges be brought before court again?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/03/13, 7:51 am by Glen Ashman

Since you gave us no details, there is no way to even guess.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 8:08 am by Lawrence Lewis

YES, it depends on why it was dismissed.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lawrence Lewis, P.C. 242 Culver Street, Suite 103 Lawrenceville, GA 30045

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 12:25 pm by Robert Gardner

Warrant application hearings are when an individual seeks to have a warrant taken out on someone in a case where law enforcement declined to do so. If law enforcement changes their mind, they can always issue a warrant. Also, if the judge dismissed it because of some technicality, such as a witness not being present, the wrong charge was in the application, or lack of jurisdiction, the judge may reconsider if it is redone to fix those problems. Also, if the application was done in the wrong county, the person seeking it can file a new one in the correct county. However, although not 100%, but most times where a judge hears the evidence and refuses to issue a warrant, the issue is dead on the criminal front. Finally, if the judge found the issue to be more civil than criminal, the person can sue you if they can't have you arrested.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Hicks, Massey & Gardner, LLP 53 W. Candler Street Winder, GA 30680

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search