Is it legal in the state of Georgia for a jail to tell you that in order to get a relative out you must also get the person that was with them when they committed the crime out also? The investigator informed me that if i wanted to get my sister out it would be $75,000, but if i got her and her friend out it would be $40,000 for both.
1 Answer from Attorneys
It is not illegal or legal for an investigator to tell you this. What is legal is what the bond for each individual says. Each person has his or her own bond, and posting on one is not a requirement for the other. Call the jail and find out what the bond amount is on the one you want to bond out and post that. What they may be telling you is that they can ask for a lower bond if you bond out both, but that is not the investigator's job, nor has he the authority to make the magistrate do so. If the bond amount is too high, a petition can be filed to lower the bond, which you would need an attorney to do for you.
Related Questions & Answers
I met a 17 year old on a dating site and I am wondering if it is illegal to meet... Asked 7/23/13, 4:47 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My son who is 18 had a first mental breakdown at a hotel and broke in to one of the... Asked 7/23/13, 5:03 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I bought a car when I lived in California and didn't have the title switched over in... Asked 7/23/13, 4:21 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My girl friend is on felony probation. For a meth possession charge. She stopped... Asked 7/22/13, 9:21 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
Refuse a polygraph as a sex offender on probation Asked 7/22/13, 2:13 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law