I am on probation with a DUI and have a limited permit to drive for work. I was driving for work when I was pulled over and given a citation for driving with suspended registration. It was due to a lapse in insurance before I was on probation. I have informed my probation officer and she has said she will not put a warrant out for my arrest. They are saying I have to go to court instead of paying it. I am wondering if I will have violated my probation or not - will they take away my driving permit? What is the fee with that is associated with that offense in Ga?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You face a potential year in jail and $1000 fine and one year suspension of your license, and revocation of probation. Some or all of that could happen (it may not all happen, and you will do better in court with a lawyer than without one). You should already have retained a lawyer to attempt to deal with and minimize the consequences. That matters. Do it today.
Related Questions & Answers
Is it legal in the state of Georgia for a jail to tell you that in order to get a... Asked 7/25/13, 4:07 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I met a 17 year old on a dating site and I am wondering if it is illegal to meet... Asked 7/23/13, 4:47 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My son who is 18 had a first mental breakdown at a hotel and broke in to one of the... Asked 7/23/13, 5:03 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I bought a car when I lived in California and didn't have the title switched over in... Asked 7/23/13, 4:21 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My girl friend is on felony probation. For a meth possession charge. She stopped... Asked 7/22/13, 9:21 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law