Georgia  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/12/12, 2:44 pm

How Pro-se defendant can prevent previous criminal record (1 felony) from being mentioned or submitted in unrelated misdemeanor trial.

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/12/12, 3:10 pm by Lawrence Lewis

A felony can always be used to impeach a testifying witness. A felony conviction can typically be used as a similar transaction. A felony can be used in aggravation of punishment. You need to retain an attorney, before your "little" misdemeanor lands you in jail for 4 months. Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lawrence Lewis, P.C. 242 Culver Street, Suite 103 Lawrenceville, GA 30045

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/12/12, 4:12 pm by Glen Ashman

You have two choices. You can try to represent yourself, not understand how such testimony can be admitted (and your representing yourself makes it easier) and get up to 12 months to serve. Or you can get a lawyer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/14/12, 5:34 am by S. Carlton Rouse

Your best solution is to avoid the trial all together. For instance, there typically are motions that can be made in most cases to limit or exclude evidence which in turn limits what the prosecutor can prove. Alternatively, lawyers often have direct experience working with prosecutors trying the case which helps in settlement discussions. Either way, you will benefit from professional assistance moving forward. Contact a local lawyer to get further information and to negotiate a fee that is feasible for you and your family.

For additional information visit us at: www.rousecolaw.com

Best of luck,


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rouse & Co., LLC P.O. Box 392105 Snellville, GA 30039

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search